We are

Proud and Engaged

ETFO-WR is a proud local of the Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario (ETFO).

We represent over 2,500 contract teachers in Waterloo Region. Our local strives to serve the professional needs of our members with a wide variety of committees, programs and services that both protect and enhance the working lives of our members.

In addition to our core work in support of members, our local and our members are very active in our community supporting a variety of community organizations and charitable causes.

We work continuously to provide an environment celebrating the diversity of our members. ETFO reaches out to the broader community to foster a climate of democracy and social justice in this province and beyond.

We are

Committed to the Environment

One of our core values here is respect for the environment. When we built our office five years ago, we used the LEED process to ensure we were using mostly reclaimed material, disposing of waste materials properly, and installing energy efficient systems to allow us to reduce the use of energy and water and reduce the waste the building produces long-term. Our building has geo-thermal heating and cooling, a green roof, energy efficient lighting and water systems, and many other design elements that reduce our impact on the environment. We achieved LEED Gold status – the first union building in Ontario to do so.

Part of our ongoing commitment to the environment is offering a yearly hybrid vehicle incentive to our members. We offer a one-time grant of up to $2000 for members who purchase a hybrid vehicle. The photos are of previous members receiving their incentive cheque, of our LEED Standard Plaque, and the poster describing the building.

Our LEED Gold Awards
Hybrid Initiative Recipients
We are

Serving our Members


Greg Weiler

Vice President

Ali Lyon

Vice President

Jeff Pelich

Vice President

Joanne Threndyle

Associate Vice President

Lynn Buckley


Associate Vice President

Tricia Le Fort

Queen Elizabeth

Associate Vice President

Kim Stenhouse

Wm G Davis


Kristie Stanzel


Executive Members

Rebecca Brooks


Don Durant

Sp Ed - Teaching

Earl Gunn


Lidia Liuba tagliabracci


Simon Tse

Wm G Davis

Ryan Wettlaufer